Update: atheist podcast appearances and my 5 star review!

For my 25th blog post (has it really been 25 already?) I thought I should turn my attention away from comics, book reviews and other matters and focus on the actual reason that I began this blog: my life as an independent author, and that I should post an update on recent happenings. So, two significant things that can occur in the career of a writer like myself occurred in the past few weeks. The first was that I made several appearances on atheist podcasts to talk about, among other things, my novel. The second  was that I got my first FIVE star review from a reader! Both of these events seem like significant milestones in the career of a self-published, independent author like myself and I’m going to talk a little about each. First, the podcasts!

In the past few weeks I’ve been on three atheist podcasts: Atheist Human’s show, the Ehtheist podcast and Cellar Door Skeptics. I’ve had a blast doing them and you can find the links to each show below. During our conversations we talked about religion, atheism, politics and of course about my novel, and all of the hosts of these shows have been remarkably generous in the amount of time they’ve allocated me to ramble about ‘Only an atheist’. Everyone involved has my thanks and I very much look forward to talking to you all again soon! Thanks guys!

Having appeared on these shows I am also struck by what they are and what they can be. They are outside of conventional media and a way of directly reaching an (admittedly small, but steadily growing) audience of listeners and conveying your message without the bias of the conventional media. OK, so most of the information discussed in these podcasts has been informed by interactions with said media but I am still impressed by the discussions that I have been a part of and how well informed my hosts have been. I have already arranged several more podcast appearances that will hopefully be lined up in the near future and I very much look forward to them. The one downside to this is that most of these shows record in the middle of the night for us here in the UK, but a few hours sleep is a small sacrifice for something so enjoyable.

The second thing that happened in the past few weeks that has truly stunned me is something that every indie author hopes will happen to them: I got a five star review from someone who read and obviously enjoyed my novel! Here it is:

Justin's review 2

Now, clearly I hoped that I would one day get a review like this and each previous review posted for my novel gave it four stars (except for the one person who didn’t like it and gave it three). But I have to say that this felt like a significant moment and I have, unsurprisingly, been enjoying telling people and retweeting this review out as often as I can. I am incredibly grateful to the person who wrote the review (they know who they are ;)) and I am sure that my first five star review will eventually be balanced out with a very negative review (probably from someone with religious tendencies). Little puts the bounce in the step of an indie author, however, than something like this! It was a very special moment and one that I treasure.

So, onwards…There will be more podcast appearances in the coming weeks as well as (hopefully) more positive reviews as there is now a significant number of people who have told me that they have bought my book and are reading it. I hope you guys enjoy my appearances on these shows now and in the future and I can’t wait to hear from all of you who’ve read the novel and reviewed it. Cheers!

 

Atheist Human podcast appearance: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/atheisthuman/2016/03/22/all-atheists-have-a-voice-1

Ehtheist podcast appearance: https://www.spreaker.com/user/ehtheist/live-with-matthew-james

Cellar Door Skeptics appearance: to be released.

 

My debut novel, ‘Only an atheist can help Godsave the world’, is available now from all electronic retailers. Also check out my other “Rambling” blogs posts for articles on being an indie author, comics, politics, and reviews of books and movies! Also follow me on Twitter @onlyanatheist1. Cheers!

OnlyanAtheistFinal

 

Leave a Reply

